Double Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

20 Feb

I resisted the chia seed thing for a long time. Seeds as a category are usually dubious as a paleo-appropriate food (we eschew seed oils for a reason), the chia kombucha at Whole Foods looks exactly like bottled salamander egg masses, and I’m generally inclined to roll my eyes at the term “superfood.” The only “superfood” I eat is lots and lots of liver. But one day recently I decided to give drinking a mix of water, electrolyte powder, and chia seeds before running a try, and I found to my consternation that this actually helped me feel a lot better on my run, and had the interesting side effect of causing me to not be hungry for a few hours afterwards. If you are thinking of starting to practice intermittent fasting as part of your paleo / primal lifestyle, chia seeds might be a good gateway to that.

So anyway, I have these chia seeds, and I went looking for other ways to use them. If you’re somehow not familiar with chia seeds, they absorb a ton of liquid and form a thick gel, so they are used a lot as a thickener. One popular use for them is to make pudding. I’ve tried a couple of different chia pudding recipes and this is my favorite so far:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (store bought or homemade)
  • 2 T unsweetened high-quality cocoa powder
  • 1 T cacoa nibs, either raw or roasted
  • 2 T chia seeds
  • Sweetener of choice, to taste (I’ve successfully used 1 fresh date added to the almond milk and blended [i.e., with a blender] and 1 T maple syrup, but there are plenty more options)

Put all ingredients into a container with a lid and shake vigorously. Put in refrigerator. After about 15 minutes, shake again. Let sit another 15 or so minutes and shake a third time. Let stand several hours until very thick.

I find the chia seeds and the cacao nibs give this a genuinely pleasant crunch. It’s like tapioca pudding, but better, mostly because it doesn’t make me feel awful.

2 Responses to “Double Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding”

  1. Sharon Rose February 26, 2013 at 5:28 PM #

    I need to get some nibs!

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Buzz Buzz Buzz

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

