You can’t win ’em all

8 Mar

The other night I went on a spree of trying some of the various exciting organ meats I’ve been getting from the farmers’ market. I buy them frozen and usually store them in the freezer until I’m ready to eat them. This week I decided to eat a bunch of them — elk liver, yak liver, and yak kidney.

The elk liver I think had been in the freezer too long, the color and smell just weren’t quite right; I fed it to the dog who couldn’t have been happier. The yak liver smelled strong but just normal liver smell. I gave some to the dog and set some aside to make pâté. I almost just gave all the kidney to the dog, but then I thought, hell, when will I ever get to try yak kidney again?

Well, I tried yak kidney.

It tasted like yak pee. I should have soaked it first 😦

Yak

MY KIDNEYS TASTE LIKE PEE LOL

Let the record show: I talk a big game, but when it came down to it, I failed; I nearly barfed from the flavor of the kidney. Lamb and pork kidneys only from now on. Holy shit. Traumatized. I drank the “emergency Mai Tai” (a bottled pre-mixed Mai Tai that I’ve had in the fridge since my dad left it here last summer) I’ve been saving to get the taste out of my mouth.

I was so traumatized I couldn’t eat the pâté — I ended up making a hearty vegan soup with beans (BEANS! I never eat beans! When I go unpaleo, it’s never for beans!) that night for dinner.

Horf.

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Probably more mistakes than beauty, but effort is beauty, and that's a start.

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

