Future Food: Introducting my Adorable Chickens!

22 Apr

Better Half finally convinced me that chickens would make great pets. Okay, I got some farm fresh eggs from a coworker and they are AMAZING and I want to eat eggs like that every day, so I got on board with the backyard chicken thing. In our city you can have up to four hens. We decided to start with babies because they are ZOMG SO CYOOOOOT! that we couldn’t resist. Presenting for your enjoyment, my future flock:

Butterscotch the Buff Orpington, 5 days old

Butterscotch the Buff Orpington, 5 days old

Henrietta aka Henny Penny the Ameraucana, 5 days old

Henrietta aka Henny Penny the Ameraucana, 5 days old

Jesus* the Barred Rock, 5 days old. (It's pronounced sacrilegiously. The short answer is, she's named Biscuit, but Jesus is a biscuit [it's a Drag Race reference] and I'm pretty sure I'm going to hell and I'm sorry to everyone I've just offended and alienated.)

Jesus* the Barred Rock, 5 days old. (It’s pronounced sacrilegiously. The short answer is, she’s named Biscuit, but Jesus is a biscuit [it’s a Drag Race reference] and I’m pretty sure I’m going to hell and I’m sorry to everyone I’ve just offended and alienated.)

Waffles the Welsummer, 5 days old.

Waffles the Welsummer, 5 days old.

We got “sexed” chicks, which have been determined with 95% accuracy to be female. There is still a chance one might turn out to be a cockerel. This has sparked a lively disagreement between Better Half and I — if we end up with a rooster, I will eat him; this apparently is the Wrong Answer. For now I hope that it isn’t an issue. We’ve also had some lively discussion about what we’ll do when the chickens reach the eventual end of their egg-producing years. The bottom line is, I’m surprisingly non-sentimental about food animals. These chicks are adorable, but some day, they could be food, and that’s okay. (I think this is why I failed at veganism.)

 

One Response to “Future Food: Introducting my Adorable Chickens!”

  1. quarteracrehome April 23, 2013 at 10:30 AM #

    I think that is perfectly reaosnable to eat your non-productive birds. But we always get our animals with the intention of them being food some day. One of our hens is named Extra Crispy. Our rabbits are named after dog foods. There is always this idea when we look at them that they will someday become food for something.

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Buzz Buzz Buzz

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

