Homemade Butter

23 Apr

When I was a little girl, my mom read all of the Laura Ingalls Wilder books to me and I loved them. We made a lot of food together that was inspired by the books, and my mom even sewed me some costumes; I remember a sun bonnet in particular that I think I had her make for me and then refused to wear specifically so that I could emulate Laura. I can trace a lot of my interests as an adult back to these experiences, really.

My love of butter is no secret. Every so often I’ll get the urge to make my own butter. It’s not any cheaper than buying butter, and it isn’t even necessarily more tasty than some of the luxury butters you can buy, but it’s just so fun that I can’t resist. Plus, it’s one of those kitchen tricks that people just go nuts for — if you ever bring homemade butter to a potluck, no one will say “All you brought was butter?” rather all you will here will be “You made butter!?!?!?”

The process is stupidly simple: you agitate heavy cream until the fat clumps together (the butter) and separates from the watery liquid (the buttermilk). Usually when I make butter I either shake it in a mason jar (tip: it works better if you add a well-washed marble) or just use the stand mixer. Once the butter separates, use a very clean tool (traditionally a special paddle) to press out all the buttermilk, rinsing with a little water to get it all out, then salt it and serve however you please. Better butter comes from better cream, so start with the good stuff, and to make it even better culture the cream first. I haven’t really experimented with this yet, but it’s next on my list.

A friend of mine has a miniature ceramic butter churn that I’ve been coveting for some years now. At the urban homesteading store the other day (oh, Portland!) I found one of my very own! This size doesn’t come with a dasher (the plunger part), so I had to rig up one on my own with some scrap wood, but today I got to live out all my pioneer dreams:

The finished product

The finished product

Churning butter while waiting for my steak-grilling fire to get ready!

Churning butter while waiting for my steak-grilling fire to get ready!

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Buzz Buzz Buzz

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

