Stuffed Grape Leaves

12 May

I can’t call this a recipe because I haven’t worked one out, it’s more like a “food idea.” But it’s a really good idea — paleo stuffed grape leaves! Our grape vines have such pretty soft leaves right now, and I really like stuffed grape leaves, and I’ve always wanted to make them at home with fresh leaves… so I figured why not?

Here’s what I ended up with:

paleo grape leaves

Stuffed fresh grape leaves

Before I started I did some poking around online for advice and came back with two things that seemed critical:

  1. Steep the leaves briefly in boiling water before starting, until they turn from bright green to dull green.
  2. Cut out the vein/stem at the very center of the leaf, where it attached to the petiole.

Other than that, I winged it. Here’s what I did:

  • Picked leaves that were still tender.
  • Put them in a tempered glass container, poured boiling water over them, let them sit until they turned olive green.
  • Drained and rinsed with cold water.
  • Made the filling: I had some grass-fed beef cut for stir-fry that I hand chopped (albeit with a pretty dull knife, so it’s more accurate to say I smashed it a little) then mixed with garlic, salt, and a Georgian (the country, not the state) spice mix that someone gave me some years back and that I don’t really know anything else about except that it’s yummy. I eyeballed the filling-to-leaf ratio and I didn’t get it quite right, but it turned out okay.
  • Separated the filling into little lumps, put a lump in the center of a leaf, and wrapped, making sure to completely enclose the meat and stick the leaf back to itself well.
  • Put each bundle in a steamer basket, then steamed them all for about 15 minutes.

Traditionally dolmas are served cold, but I ate mine hot. I drizzled a little olive oil on top and sprinkled on some coarse salt. This is great as a snack, or a party appetizer. They would be even better with lamb (which would also be more traditional), and you could add other vegetables to the filling easily.

3 Responses to “Stuffed Grape Leaves”

  1. Sharon Rose May 12, 2013 at 1:08 PM #

    YUM

  2. Kristin May 12, 2013 at 6:55 PM #

    That sounds really good!

    • Flidais July 18, 2013 at 12:32 AM #

      You can serve them hot with Avgolemeno (egg-lemon) sauce – warm chicken broth, whiz egg yolks and lemon juice in a blender, add chicken broth slowly so you don’t make scrambled eggs, add eggs or just the yolks until you get a thick sauce. the chicken broth should keep it from going to mayonaise unless you go over-board with the egg yolks 🙂

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Probably more mistakes than beauty, but effort is beauty, and that's a start.

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

