Squash Casserole: it’s not Paleo, but it’s Effing Delicious

7 Aug

We have a LOT of squash coming off the garden right now. That’s the deal with summer squashes. I even tried to plan for it and I planted “only” four squash plants of a single variety that I know we like (patty pan). How stupid could I be? That’s still a lot of squash! I’ve made stuffed squash (recipe forthcoming possibly), squash in my eggs (this is good), baked squash (if you overseason it, it’s terrible), and more. Better Half staunchly refuses all of these. Her resolve holds steady.

I was craving macaroni and cheese. How could I make something like that, all creamy and full of terrible, terrible dairy but moderately low in carbs? I went searching for squash casserole recipes, played around with what I had on hand, and I hit paydirt. I share this with deep shame: you are searching for paleo squash recipes and you land here? Oh dear. What if we call this a “low carb substitute for macaroni and cheese” and just call it good? Okay? Okay.

Squash casserole

This is the worst thing and also the best thing.

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium sized summer squashes
  • 1 small to medium onion
  • ~1/2 cup Sour cream (or more if you want a creamier, “looser” consistency)
  • ~1.5 cups Shredded cheese (any variety or combination), divided
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • Just a pinch of cayenne pepper

I thinly sliced a bunch of squashes (both patty pans and some yellow crooknecks that we had from the market) and an onion and sauteed them together until “tender crisp” (cooked enough that they would be cooked through but not mushy after baking, and I kind of guessed, really). Then I combined these with “what looked like enough” of the sour cream and shredded cheese, seasoned it, and put it in a ceramic baking dish. I sprinkled some more cheese on top and baked it for twenty minutes.

This is, hand to God, the only squash recipe I have ever made where every MOLECULE got devoured. My wife, my squash-hating wife, asked for seconds. We have a winner, folks.

Leave a Reply

My experiences through SCA, LARP and Weight Loss

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Early Sweden

Posament, Combs and all things Birka Sweden

the18thcenturylady

Stirring up the past...

Frock Flicks

There are no spoilers in history

www.modehistorique.com/

- Historical Personality Disorder -

Gebhard's Blog

Random thoughts and Stories about life in the current middle ages

The Rose Garden

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

A seething mass of turgid drama.

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Beautiful Mistakes

Buzz Buzz Buzz

Random Stream of Consciousness

Unbelievably Delicious Paleo (and not-really-paleo) Treats

Savoring the Past

Savoring history's repast. Discovering flavors not lost but forgotten

Viking Food Guy

Just another WordPress.com site

ROMANA SUM

Recreating 50BCE

Eldrimner

- a blog about medieval and viking age food

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Diary of a Fat Girl.

The Journey of a Lifetime.

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

